Suggestions Needed for New DIY'er

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys. I hope this post isn't misplaced, I apologize if it is. I'll try to be brief.

My background is one year in a tech lab in middle school. I learned how to do basic soldering and built a circuitboard with a couple LEDs and a switch.

My educational background is one year in calculus-based physics at the collegiate level, and about a third of that dealt with circuits. So, I understand basic circuitry principles very well.

I got curious about electronics repair and decided to dive in. I opened up the simplest handheld FM radio I could find and was overwhelmed to find that the complexity of the circuits far exceeded the hardest problems on our tests in college. This was definitely the stuff of EEs. So much for my original plan of troubleshooting and repairing my 39lb. Yamaha RX-V2600.

So my question is this: How do I get into this? Of course I would like to do some simple projects to get my hands wet, but how do I learn about this hobby? I would like to find some educational material on how you troubleshoot something with a multimeter, a sort of Dummies' Electronics Repair 101 guide.

Thanks for any help you guys can offer, and sorry this wasn't so brief.

First of all ....

FM is an art unto itself. The "simplest handheld FM radio" is in another whole level of difficulty.

The most complex circuits are all composed of simple circuits, just gotta break it down.

Your Yamaha surround receiver is just a bunch of relatively straight forward components. Besides, the problem is probably just a bad super-cap.

I'd suggest starting with analog, audio frequency stuff and expanding from there. You'll start seeing things as you get familiar. Google up repair faq . org for a good introduction.