pc speaker amp (kit) for a newb, not sure where to post.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have no experience with diy amps or crossovers. I can solder and I love learning new skills and doing new projects. Right now I am in need of some nice sounding pc speakers. I am a drummer/musician/music software junkie. I am confident that I can put together all the required components on my own and get better results then the out of the box speakers that can be bought. I also have a small budget at the moment, ($50?) I am also a woodworker and have tons of scrap wood going spare. My dilemma is where to begin. I have an audio source, my PC. So some power (amp) and some drivers are what I'm thinking I need. With my limited budget I am unsure of how to proceed. Prebuilt amp and some full range drivers? prebuilt amp, crossover and low/high frequency drivers? amp kit and drivers, and so on. This is what I am wondering. Any suggestions of not only how to proceed, but perhaps specific components and/or projects that others have done? I apologize if I have posted in the wrong forum.
Thanx, can't wait for responses.

Oh well - with that money if you are lucky you can catch something at some garage sale , anything that is in working condition .
A pair of speakers and an integrated amplifier ( or just the power amplifier , confiding that you won't make a mess with the volume control of the computer , but it's always handful to control the volume manually , with a passive device , such the stereo potentiometer ).
Otherwise , you can grab a chip amp such as an LM 3886 ( check the chip amp forum ,under solid state ) , and they come already mounted and tested ,but without the power supply .
For the speakers , take a look at undefinition
for getting an idea of how complex can be to build two little boxes .

Thanx for your response