How to Make Concrete Horns and Enclosures - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd February 2012, 06:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default How to Make Concrete Horns and Enclosures

I've been studying horns, waveguides, and loudspeakers for over ten years. I've obsessed over horn curves, and drivers, and crossovers, etc.

Click the image to open in full size.
A few years ago I bought myself a set of Gedlee Summas, and realized there was an aspect of loudspeaker design that I'd overlooked.

The shape and the rigidity of the enclosure is INCREDIBLY critical. My Summas are depressingly heavy, but they're also solid as a rock. They're made from a composite of MDF and carbon fiber. (Please excuse the mess in the pic above, I had to build my subwoofer inside the house, as it wouldn't fit through the front door of the house.)

For most of the last decade I've built my horns out of fiberglass or carbon fiber, but I stumbled across an interesting alternative today that some of you might be interested in:

Concrete Casting: How to Make a Concrete Sink Mold - YouTube

The video above shows how to make a concrete sink - but the instructions could be used to make a concrete loudspeaker, or a concrete horn.

This fabrication method has some excellent advantages over fiberglass or carbon fiber:
  • it's dirt cheap. The amount of carbon fiber required for a loudspeaker enclosure is hundreds of dollars; in concrete it's about $20
  • Making a horn out of carbon fiber is labor intensive. I've easily wasted DAYS making carbon fiber horns, because you have to 'build it up' layer by layer by layer. With concrete, you pour it once, and you're done.