finish the plywood or veneer it - that is the question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Calling all seasoned experts, and those who just did either and wished they had gone the other route...

I will (hopefully) soon build a pair of the planet10 Frugel-Horns and am debating finish options. Complicating factor: I am not 100% sure what look I will want to go for, but definitely a lighter wood color finish.

I have never applied veneer other than the (crappy) iron-on edge strips. I have some experience in getting hardwood to look nice.
I have read all the threads and referenced materials that come up in a search here and elsewhere, so I kind of know the steps involved.

My question really is: Should I even consider veneering on this project or are the chances for initial success not very high? The process sounds reasonably straightforward and I am real good at following procedures/instructions (don't ask my parents to confirm this, please...:D), but past experience makes me very aware of the devil(s) in the detail.

Any guidance, should I go for it or better stick with sanding/sealing/waxing?

Thanks for your thoughts!

I allways used pre-veneered 3/4" ply. More expensive, but oh-so-easy. Most furniture makers use it and should be available in specialty wood supply stores. From my experience this is also a better grade of ply than standard. Should you go this route, get the edge veneer at the same time so it matches the ply.
A friend of mine (yes, I have one) build boxes trying to veneer them after construction. Lots of time and money wasted. He ended up glueing velvet (no Elvis!) over top of the veneer onto the boxes to cover the oopses. Looked really nice (but than that was in the 70s)! E

Last edited:
Hey Mickeymoose,