Help a beginner out please! :>

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys!

A buddy of mine built a ghettoblaster and that has totally inspired me to make one too... I've tried to read everything I can and soak in everything that's on the net but to no avail. Bear in mind I have no knowledge whatsoever about electronics. I'll be fine with the woodworking part though :p

So the questions I have are:

1) How does a boombox work? A diagram would be very helpful.
2) As a beginner, how should I start out?
3) I don't get how to calculate the volts and the ohms and currents etc. What do they even mean? Haha
4) Any other pointers?

Thanks in advance for any help, it'll be good if everything was just simplified, I'm a total beginner! I'm sorry if I have posted in the wrong forum, or if there has been a similar thread. I can't find an article that is not written in "audiophile speak" hahah!

Peace x
Jo-ann

go to either Decibel Dungeon and/or ESP and find the articles you can understand initially. Once you have these in your head you can decide which direction you take next.

As an absolute beginner without background knowledge of the subject, the best you can do is adopt an already proven and recommended design and build it exactly as instructed in the build guide. If there is no build guide then forget that design.

The answers I have are:
1) Tough question because it can be answered on different levels. At its simplest, a music player has its output electrically amplified and converted to sound waves via a loudspeaker.
2) IMO, a beginner should learn the basic units and components and their schematic symbols. And answer 3)!
3) The relationship of volts, ohms, and amps are conveniently defined by Ohm's Law - V=I*R (voltage equals current times resistance). Power (watts) equals voltage times current.