only drum and/or bass output

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello people,
I am totally new to this field so pardon me if you find the question silly.
what i have is a 3.5mm jack, connected to two wires carrying varying voltage of a music file.
what i want - a circuit as small/compact as possible which gives me "only bass" varying voltage of the same music file.
for this, correct me if I am wrong, i need a bass equalizer IC and amplifiers.
I need very accurate results and a compact structure that's why i am using an IC for this purpose. I want to know the size of device which i would end up with. Also, suggest if you have any better idea.
Thanks in advanced. :)

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
That's a bit like asking "how long is a piece of string" ;)

Do you want to build something yourself? Or buy something pre-built? If building yourself it should be possible to make something quite compact. If you only need the bass (ie you aren't spliting the signal into low and high) a single sallen key filter should do the trick and it will have a low component count.

Other things to consider is how sharp you need the cutoff (12db / octave per stage in a sallen key) the steeper you need the cutoff the bigger the circuit will be due to needing extra filter stages.

Tony.

12 db/ octave is pretty good.
Thanks for explaining. For what I have understood, i am attaching a file, please check whether I am on the right track or not.

Anshul

Attachments

• file#1.jpg
    file#1.jpg
    45.2 KB · Views: 54
An electronic crossover can be just the little circuit, or it can refer to a complete piece of equipment. AS a circuit, a crossover normally would be a high pass filter and a low pass filter, built around the same crossover frequency.

In your case you want half of one - you want the low pass filter.