Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Construction Tips

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th April 2011, 03:48 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Home Brew Ampeg B25B

Hi,

I am a newbie considering building a home brew Ampeg B25B bass amp. I would like to follow the circuit diagram below where possible:

http://www.unofficialampeg.com/schematics/b-25.gif

I know a LITTLE about electronics and I am trying to read as much as possible before building, which I won't even contemplate doing until I am certain every thing is theoretically correct and completely safe - I have my dad (an electrician) to advise on the safety side though no amp tech to ask any detailed questions of which is what brings me here.

I intend to use a Lundahl LL9202 for the output transformer and an Antek AS-4T500 for the mains transformer. The specs are below:

http://www.lundahl.se/pdfs/datash/1620_3_7_9202.pdf
Antek - AS-4T500

My problem is the Antek AS-4T500 only has 2 6.3v secondaries so I can't use the GZ34 and will have use a diode bridge - as the amp is intended to be used as a bass amp this doesn't bother me that much. I would like to follow the RCA specs for class AB1 and try to get around 70-75 volts by putting 540v on the plate and 400v on the screen as per below:

http://www.drtube.com/datasheets/7027a-rca1959.pdf

If any one could help me to modify the B25B circuit diagram to replace the GZ34 valve rectifier with a SS diode bridge and up the output to circa 75 watts aper the RCA spec I would greatly appreciate it!!!

All comments welcomed.

Regards

Jamie
Old 10th April 2011, 04:19 AM   #2
eyoung is offline eyoung  United States
diyAudio Member