University Design, Help! :)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello! Im new to the forum, and in need of some help, I am studying for a Bsc in design.

One of the thing I have to design is a speaker enclosure for an ipod dock. We have been given the speakers and power source.

Only 2 speakers are allowed. Here is the stats:
Loudspeaker Type: Woofer (340M)
Nominal Impedance: 8 Ohm
Resonant Frequency: 120Hz
Usable Frequency Response: 120Hz – 16kHz
Nominal Power Handling: 10W
Music Power Handling: 20W
Sensitivity (SPL): 88dB/W/0.5m
Chassis Shape: Round
Chassis Diameter: 78mm
Magnet Housing Diameter: 70mm
Driver Depth: 40mm
Cone Diameter: 62mm
Fixing Centers: 4 x 3.5mm Ø holes at 90° intervals on a 84mm Ø Circle​
Baffle Cut Out: 78mm

I am trying to get the best sound out of them as possible, as sound quality is going to be a part of the criteria. Can anyone here point me in the right direction of size of enclosure and if it should be ported or not!

Thanks, Richard

hello.
do you have a datasheet of this driver?
you need thiele small parameters (free air resonant frequency,Vas,Qms,Qes.....).
with the datas you can determine an enclosure.
if you have built the box you can tune it with a small crossover (probably a rlc network for the midband..........).
greetings

If you want to extract the best sound from the ipod, it is worth using the line out port of a proper dock, or using a cable like this, that is if you can adjust the volume of the power source?

LOGIC3 MIP142 iPod to 3.5mm Stereo Cable: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo