P2P vs PCB

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is something I have been wondering about for a while, and reading the thread about building the TubelabSE as a P2P amp stirred it up again:
Ok...if two wires side by side (co-planer) create inductance and/or stray capacitance, how is this issue addressed in PCB design? It seems to me that PCB would be a breeding ground for this??? PCB is the co-planer poster child it would seem. Please keep in mind that I am a noob and that my expeience is pretty much confined to P2P and tag boards with flyoffs.:confused:

Think edges.

It's generally not a problem at low-ish frequencies like audio. With high speed circuits, it can be a problem. Sometimes guard traces are run between traces where coupling would be an issue. But for sub-megahertz stuff, trace to trace coupling is pretty small. Remember, in the old days, lots of wires were bundled together in harnesses...

Ok...if two wires side by side (co-planer) create inductance and/or stray capacitance, how is this issue addressed in PCB design?

It's generally not a problem at low-ish frequencies like audio.