• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Review of a TA3020 v4b from a pro audio perspective

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings all,

I've been working on a self powered subwoofer project for about 6 months and I've finally got the second prototype to a useable point. The sub is a medium sized reflex unit tuned to an fb of 33hz that uses an Eminence Lab 12. My background is in Pro Audio and I wouldn't consider myself a HiFi or home theater guy. That being said my systems are known for their balanced mids and highs as well as good overall clarity; though I have a reputation for going heavy on the bass.

I purchased a TA3020 v4b from connexelectronics for this project and I'm quite happy I did. The TA3020 v4b is tripath based amp combined with a resonant SMPS. There are 2 versions of this: a 300W/channel@4ohms model, and a 400W/channel@4ohms one. I purchased the 400W version as it is capable of putting out over 1200W in Briged tied load with very low THD. The price of this package is hard to beat at just over $300. Although if you run a balanced signal path and plan on using this amp in stereo you will need a bridged input phase shift unit also sold on the website for under $20 if I remember correctly. For BTL application like mine you simply connect pin 1 to either channels gnd, pin 2 to left positive and pin 3 to right positive; then left + and right + outputs connect to the positive and negative terminals of your speaker respectively.