Lepai T-Amp with TA2020 - Page 113 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th April 2012, 07:56 PM   #1121
diyAudio Member

Just a heads up, but I connected everything to the battery and damn does this thing BANG, now i'll have to find a way to make it somewhat portable cause I bought a heave Sealed Acid battery.. It plays better from battery then from the regular power supply...
Old 10th April 2012, 02:05 AM   #1122
swon is offline swon  United States
diyAudio Member

I'm new to electronics & I'm looking for some help on modding my Lepai TA2020+ into a custom case. I have some basic soldering skills, but mostly I'm looking for some help locating parts and how to use them. Here is what I want to relocate and/or upgrade:

1. Power switch
2. Power LED
3. Tone control switch
4. Treble knob
5. Bass knob
6. Volume knob
7. Power jack
8. Audio input jacks
9. Speaker wire jacks

Basically everything external. So here is my laundry list of questions:

1. Seems like a metal case is recommended for EMI. I would like to build a wood case, so I'm assuming a metal case or metal sheets inside would do the trick. Are there some standard project cases that people like to use?

2. How do I mount the amp board inside the case? In the computer world, I use brass standoffs so that the solder leads don't touch the bare metal of the PC case, but the Lepai doesn't have any mounting holes. Is there a foam pad or something available?