Lepai T-Amp with TA2020

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks Virpz I look forward to seeing the tutorial. This is my first time modding an amp and there are so many pages in this thread it gets confusing.

Since I removed the R35 and R34 resistors do I have to replace those now? If so does anyone know what they are?

Thanks for the help

Last edited:
Small problem.

Hi guys, good to see people still playing with these. Anyway I might have damaged mine, not sure, thought I'd just post and see if anybody can help me.

The problem is it does not put any sound out. LOL. But i think i know why, I did a few mods to mine as you can see in the pic. But what happened is, where I bypassed the O.P. amp stage, the 2 wires ended up touching each other just after they come away from the board near the RCA plugs. Anybody know if this could be a course for the TA2020 chip to fail? Or perhaps it can be reset? If anybody in the know could give there opinion i would be greatfull.

P.S. this picture is taken after a rewire.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

10,000 uf cap?

Hi my amplifier came today (4th july 2012) and has a red circuit board i have replaced vonage 2a power supply with a xbox 360 16.5a power supply i know its a bit overkill as the thing will only drain about 4-5a and also the 2200uf power cap has been replaced with a much bulkier 10,000uf cap, i am not experiencing the pop when turning on and off and also not experiencing the hiss from the tone controls but my relay isnt engaging when i turn the amplifier up to distortion, i am not sure but could there be a problem with my amplifier?

thanks rob
Did you calculate that higher value? Others suggest 4700@16v. Thinking about going to 25v for more voltage headroom.

Joined 2011
Paid Member
Hi all,