Lepai T-Amp with TA2020

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Scootxyz said:
Hi there

(New to the forum...)

The mod that I really want is the noise suppresion one - but is this really something that a total beginner can learn to do?

If I don't do it I'm worried that my speakers are going to pop out one day when turning the thing on...
:bigeyes:

Also - I am rnning the preamp out from my NAD into the input of the lepai. Is this ok?

Thanks in advance for any advice...

Welcome aboard Scootxyz, I hope you realise which road you have just turned down...:D

Things seem pretty complicated at the start but you'll soon pick it up.

For starters I used Nick's NE555 circuit (about 3/4 down the page) to supress any start up pops but I was also supressing the startup sound from my modified PS1 so I liked the adjustable timing.
Alternatively you can do it this way for a manual method that cuts out the complicated bit of the one above. It's also shown in the diagram directly above the NE555, so you have two diagrams of the same simple circuit.
You could use the mute opion on the chip and use a selector switch to do pretty much the same thing... it is mentioned several times in this thread and other TA2020 amp threads so have a search.
There are even more options with DC coupling ... but I wont get into that now.
Option 2 is probably the eassiest to do and just as effective as the 1st so start with that and when you get more adventurous...... well, you'll probably start rebuilding the whole amp like everybody else does;)

Lee

thanks to both for these replies. Never ceases to amaze me how many helpful people are out there on t'internet. :D

I quite like the look of option 2 as it looks the simplest for anyone without any soldering experience to do... I guess i just remove the wires from the old switch, replace it physically and then solder in the new one?