UcD project questions (newbie)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm a beginner at DIY, trying to get an overview of how much it takes to build a UcD180 stereo amplifier. This is on a budget, by the way.

So far I figure this is the parts list:

2 x UcD180
1 x UcD Supply ST
??? 1 x UcD SoftStart
1 x Transformer 160VA TR100A

1 x power cable
1 x on/off switch
1 x 1m internal cable
1 x RCA cable
1 x set of RCA
1 x set of speaker output things

Is it a good idea to include the SoftStart? I haven't really read about anyone using it.

Am I missing anything besides a cabinet?

Is there some place I can see a detailed description about how to assemble the parts?

i would say that the soft-start isnt necessary for a single 160va transformer. i would just get a 300va and call it day, and forget about the soft-start.

i dont know of any sites that have detailed descriptions about how to build the unit, step by step, but its not too bad.

you might need the faston connectors (i found that i needed more than were included). also, other various connectors might be needed. you will need some connectors for the input connectors on the UCD modules.

also, you will need little things like screws, standoffs, etc. but just look at the datasheets on hypex's website for how to connect everything up. you'll be fine.

Hmm ok. The options at the UcD-parts-site in Denmark are 160VA and 500VA. Furthermore, it says their 160VA is custom made for a UcD180 stereo box.

Would you advice me to:

1. Get the 500VA and then also the SoftStart which Tekko said was needed @ 500VA?

2. Get a 300-400VA somewhere else? Does this bring complications into the picture?

3. Rather stick with the option in my first post over the other 2?

4. Something else?

zhai said:
Hmm ok. The options at the UcD-parts-site in Denmark are 160VA and 500VA. Furthermore, it says their 160VA is custom made for a UcD180 stereo box.