How many modulation methods in Class D amplifier ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st November 2006, 12:23 PM   #1
xuhaoz is offline xuhaoz  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default How many modulation methods in Class D amplifier ?

Hi, all,

I am a beginner in this forum, I have read some articles about the modulation method in class D amplifier, and I found that PWM and Sigma-Delta method are the most popular methos used in Class D amplifier.

Do you know any other modulation methods?

What's the relationship between COM and PWM?

Thank you very much.

yours
Jimmy
Old 1st November 2006, 02:57 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

How many do you like ????

Fun aside: Yes the main modulation schemes are indeed PWM and delta-sigma. Both have numerous sub variants however.

COM is a self-oscillating PWM modulator scheme by B&O.

Regards

Charles
Old 1st November 2006, 04:19 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Keep in mind there are two sub classes to Class D, Class AD and Class BD. AD means there are only two states for the output, typically the supply rails. BD has three states, usually the supply rails and 0V. Both PWM and delta-sigma can be done in AD or BD. To better describe modulation scheme the type and the sub classe can be used. But then there are lots of other 'things' done that are highly confidential to the companies that create them. All done to improve THD perofromance, reduce EMI, etc. Searching around on the web will pull up lots of info. Just don't be fooled by marketing classes such as Class T and Class I.

-SL
Old 3rd November 2006, 07:48 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hi,