Ucd180 ampli: initial questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th October 2006, 03:56 PM   #1
zazzero is offline zazzero  Italy
diyAudio Member

Default Ucd180 ampli: initial questions

Dear all,

first time I post after lurking for some time. I read old posts but I was unable to gather a complete picture...

Although I have very little former experience I would like to build a stereo integrated amplifier using two Hypex Ucd180 modules.

It seems that this should not be very difficult given that these are ready made modules but I would need your kind help in getting started (also general advise on configuration is very welcome).

I have some preliminary questions before I order circuitry:

As far as I understand I would need the following for the core amplifying section:

- n.2 UCD180 AD (Analog Devices 8620)

- n.1 LPWS high end (pls advise here whether one module is sufficient or it would be better a complete dual mono configuration)

- TR27 transformer 160 VA, 230 V/2 x 27 V (pls advise here whether: it would be better (i) a complete dual mono configuration or (ii) a bigger transformer would be required)

Moreover, I would need a sample circuit design to start planning everything properly (could you please help?). In fact, I have no idea how to connect volume control or input selector etc...

Finally, I would need all accessories for assemblying the integrated amplifier with 3 sources:

- cabinet

- n.3 RCA/XLR inputs red + n.3 RCA/XLR inputs black (any advise for good price/quality and for unbalanced vs balanced solution?)

- n.2+n.2 output black/red for fork connections to speakers (any advise for good price/quality?)

- potentiometer for volume control (advice pls)