First time Class D-IYer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
please excuse the terrible pun.

Hello everyone, I am looking to build a simple class D amplifier, because I love the concept (and my RA keeps bugging me to build one). The only problem is that I have never worked on any real digital circuitry before (only tubes, and other analoge stuff). Is there a schematic that is simple, and fun for a first timer? I don't need much power, 5-15 WPC should be just fine.

Thanks alot
-Moose

Niico gave you a good site to check out. You should check out the Amp6 Basic. There are reviews on this site on that particular amp you can check out (from me and from others). They are somewhere under the Class D forums, maybe on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th page, but no later than that.

It is the most beginner friendly amp to build. And since you are in school you can probably get an electrial engineering student to check your work or have them with you when you solder to ensure you got everything correct. You should also be able to borrow a multimeter from them too. Also, the instructions are the easiest to follow too, since there are pictures to guide you. Other amps don't have that.

I have pics of a finished Amp 6 Basic posted here

http://s101.photobucket.com/albums/m59/Xspunge/?

Let us know what questions you have and someone will be able to help you out.

Amp9 is also a very easy build, like amp6 also with trough-hole components mainly... Amp9 has the chip I listen to every day with much enjoyment :bigeyes:

A bit more power can't hurt? :cool:

And the chip is quite fool-proof, protected against all kinds of abuse..:angel:

Supply is within the range of a single 10 to 27 Vdc, but this amp allready rocks at 12 Vdc!