First time Class D-IYer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd October 2006, 03:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default First time Class D-IYer

please excuse the terrible pun.

Hello everyone, I am looking to build a simple class D amplifier, because I love the concept (and my RA keeps bugging me to build one). The only problem is that I have never worked on any real digital circuitry before (only tubes, and other analoge stuff). Is there a schematic that is simple, and fun for a first timer? I don't need much power, 5-15 WPC should be just fine.

Thanks alot
-Moose
Old 23rd October 2006, 03:52 PM   #2
niiico is offline niiico  France
diyAudio Member

You could go there : www.41hz.com

You won't get circuits descriptions but kits ready to be built.
Old 23rd October 2006, 06:09 PM   #3
Xspunge is offline Xspunge  United States
diyAudio Member

Niico gave you a good site to check out. You should check out the Amp6 Basic. There are reviews on this site on that particular amp you can check out (from me and from others). They are somewhere under the Class D forums, maybe on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th page, but no later than that.

It is the most beginner friendly amp to build. And since you are in school you can probably get an electrial engineering student to check your work or have them with you when you solder to ensure you got everything correct. You should also be able to borrow a multimeter from them too. Also, the instructions are the easiest to follow too, since there are pictures to guide you. Other amps don't have that.

I have pics of a finished Amp 6 Basic posted here

http://s101.photobucket.com/albums/m59/Xspunge/?

Let us know what questions you have and someone will be able to help you out.