Chassis ground - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th October 2006, 07:06 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Chassis ground

I just received my AMP32, and well the chip soldering did not go so well, 1 important pad lifted and i had to buy a new kit.

But the question is, i have a metal chassis, and all the connectors(power, RCA, and banana plugs) i bought are not insulated to how they connect to the chassis.

Will it matter if the power input ground is the same as the speaker signals? It seems to me like it should matter and i need to insulate them some how.

Ive searched around a lot, and i'm sure this is a somewhat dumb question but i am very confused about all of it right now.

I do have a technical background. I am a ChE student at Oregon State University, i just do not have any EE or signal knowledge really, just the basics.
Old 19th October 2006, 10:38 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I think that if you ask Jan (at 41hz.com), and explain him the problem, he will send you a new board in order to save kit #1. It seems to me that one lifted pad can also be fixed without a new board. It will just not look so nice as expected .

Marek
Old 19th October 2006, 06:10 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I just ordered another because i do not feel like taking the time to remove all of the other components, the $35 isn't a big deal, its just for fun anyway.

But i figured out that i need to insulate the input and output connectors.

What is the best way to do this?

I was thinking of getting synthetic washers, inside and outside, but my concern is the metal that is thru the hole touching the hole. Is there any way to insulate this?
Old 19th October 2006, 06:15 PM   #4
phn is offline phn  Sweden
diyAudio Member