I have no experience with diy amps...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have no experience with diy amps (except the dual mono UCD180 I built) so I suppose I have little room to talk - neither am I a knowledgable modder - not even an electrical engineer - so less room. Certainly less than everybody else here. I have already proven (thru ignorant posts) that I don't know anything at all. Fact.

I am however non-plussed at how quiet the UCD180 is on an 8 ohm load.

I guess I should have read more closely when I read the specs.

Pay no, NO, attention to the 4 Ohm spec (if you're a normal human being) because you'll NEVER hear it. Wanna build your own 4 ohm speakers? Fine. Otherwise be prepared for a VERY quiet amp.

Aside from the fact that this is one of the cleanest amps I have EVER heard I am bummed. A Normal set of speaks EATS the output of this amp like nobodys business.

No SPL. Period.

Nothing wrong, my UCD runs happily - all nominal.

I got a pair of Klipsch KG2's that blow the roof roof off with the UCD but they are NASTY forward - honky.

Everything else swallows the UCD down a hole. Jensen, big Klipsch, EPI's, KEF's, everything - makes the UCD180 sound small.

The UCD is one of the best amps I've ever heard - ultra clean, authoritative, but small. Wish it had more balls. I'm sorta bumming...

Am I alone in this thought?

[edit]
Don't get me wrong - I LOVE my UCD but I did expect more ZAP out of it. I suppose I saw 180 watts and ignored the rest of the text....

That's NOT what you get on a normal load folks. Half that on a good day...

My bad.

[extra edit]
Why the hell don't manufacturers quote a reasonable power level - like most of us can use - instead of some esoteric bloody level none of us can reach? Seems dishonest to me - somehow crummy... I mean, how many of you have 4 ohm speaks hanging out?

Why bother quoting it if it ain't relevant?

Hello?