AudioDigit Tube T 100 vs. Charlize - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st June 2006, 09:14 PM   #1
Mac Man is offline Mac Man  Bouvet Island
diyAudio Member

Default AudioDigit Tube T 100 vs. Charlize

I am new to Class D. Coming to it from Class A (Pass Aleph 30, which I love, but runs way too hot for the space I have for it.)

I have tried Harman Kardon's DPR 2006, but did not like the sound at all, compared to the Pass Aleph: it was powerful, but more like a waterfall, without much definition.

So I am looking at the Tripath-based amps and hoping that I can approximate the sound of the Pass Aleph (or am I crazy?)

I have narrowed my choices to:

(1) the AudioDigit Tube T 100 integrated amp, which is not out yet out, but seems like it will be similar to the Tube T 2020 (http://www.audiodigit.com/index.php?section=37), but using the 4100A chip, and

(2) the Charlize, placed in one of these enclosures: http://mywebpages.comcast.net/ampbox/page2.html

I am leaning toward the AudioDigit, because my room is large, with high ceilings and the Pass Aleph 30 (at 30W) was just about adequate for it. So I am thinking that the Charlize might be straining a bit with the room and the speakers (Gallo Solo, 90dB.)

Any thought on this and also on the idea of the tube pre-amp? Do I really need the tube (I'll be using a pre-pro?) Anyone with experience with these?

Thanks.
Old 1st June 2006, 09:51 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

One more thing: should I worry much with respect to RFI with these two amps?
Old 2nd June 2006, 10:53 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

O.K., I think I am going for the Audiogit T 100 (http://www.audiodigit.com/index.php?section=83). AudioDigit tells me that RFI is not an issue with this amp.