My UcD adventure - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th May 2006, 05:10 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default My UcD adventure

Hi all,

First of all, i'd just like to point out that i've not being doing this all that long, probably moreso in the past year or so. Most of my time gets spent on my car among other things. Basically what i'm trying to say is i'm an interested amateur

I previously built a Gainclone and while it was a good introduction I was never satisfied with the way it sounded in comparison with some of the Bel Canto or NEW amps I played around with.

So what did I do? I built a UcD180-based twin-monoblock stereo amplifier. Its spec sheet lists like this per channel:
Harbuchs 30V 160VA transformer
IXYS rectifier diodes
2 x 10000uF 50V Nichicon Super Through caps
UcD180AD module
Vampire RCA
Cardas CPBP binding post
Kimber wiring
Cardas wiring for signal wiring

It was built into an old Philips tuner case to match my Gainclone which was in the amplifier case of the same set. It has a pair of high intensity LED's which light up the front panel to look just like an old tuner.
Pics are as follows:
Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.

I've tried it out on various recordings at home, and finally took it into WAR Audio yesterday where i'm personal friends with the owners, to try it out against some other amps on some different sorts of speakers.