'nother noob Charlize question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

First post! I think I was in a cave the last couple of years. I didn't find out about this Sonic Impact T-Amp phenomenon until a month ago. I had to try it out, so I bought the Super T-Amp. I really like it. Later on, I learned my Onkyo TX-LR552 digital receiver had a Tripath chip in it also.

Anyway, I'd like to build a Charlize amp, but I'm not an electrical engineer. I recently started soldering together interconnects, so I'm still a noobie. Because the Charlize is mostlly built, I thought it would be a good starting point. I think I've read every post regarding the Charlize on the forum, but I don't understand most of it.

I have a few of questions so far. I hope you guys can help explain.

1. I know you can either install a potentiometer or connect it directly to rca jacks. I would like to do the direct to RCA jacks way. I was planning on getting an iPod Universal Dock. The dock's line out is variable. It's controlled by the volume adjustment on the iPod. I would like to hook this up to the Charlize in lieu of a preamp. Would this work? It seems like a great option because I can control the volume and music using a remote.

2. I've been reading a lot about SMPS. I'd like to get one. There was one that someone linked to on a thread.
http://cgi.ebay.com/150W-12V-DC-Pow...itemZ7584653342QQcategoryZ50940QQcmdZViewItem