Complete newbie building a 41Hz AMP6

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Niico,
Either of those Solen caps will work. The MKP type will cost a lot less and be easier to find.

Have you guys read the forums over on the 41hz.com site? I think there is mention of the fuse size over there. It seems that Jan forgot to change his testing fuse size when he wrote the AMP6 documentation.

200mA works well for AMP3, but AMP6 has such big cap that it blows anything less than about 2 amps when it charges up. I use a 3A fuse, no problems. You might be able to use a 500mA slow fuse for testing, I have not tried it.

Putting the fuse just before the rectifier bridge is the best place for it.

Yes Pano, you must be right.

But I don't understand why in my Amp, the inrush current is so high that the 2A slo blow fuse blows after 2 or 3 switch to on.

Do you think it may be the stiffener cap that is doing this? When switching on, I "charge" :
15000+1800+10000+some small values = 27000µF but I don't know what energy it represents.

Everytime I switch on, I can see a spark inside the fuse, which is fatal after 2 or 3 times.

Pano, do you have the same thing in your AMP6. I know you too have a 10000µF stiffener cap?

Last question, about the Solen caps: do they make the treble less "tiring"? After listening the amp for 2 hours yesterday (at an higher volume that the first time (which was at 1:00AM...)), I find that the trebles may be maybe just a little (but a just little!) tiring and I wonder if the input caps can make it a little "smoother", less bright, without loosing the details (which is what I like a lot in this Amp).

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Salut Niiico,