Complete newbie building a 41Hz AMP6

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I ordered an AMP6 from www.41hz.com and I'm building it with the most carefull attention since I'm a complete newbie in electronics (but I don't like to be told I'm not able to do something ;) )

This is even more difficult to me because I work only with 45 min sessions, 2 times a week.

The first thing I'll remember is : do not buy unleaded silver (4%) solder! It is even more difficult to solder because of the higher melting point! But that's all that I have, so...

It is not yet finished, but it passed yesterday evening the onboard power supply test : I got 21.5 V between C99 leads and 14.61 V between C1819 leads. Hurra ! :D

Since this is the first time I do this kind of stuff (I already made my speakers, you can see them here. The text is in french, photos are international ! ;)), I'm very happy with this first result.

Here is the test board:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

You can see the 39 KOhm resistor in place between C1819 leads for the power supply test:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Some details on the unfinished board:

I have now to solder the chip on the board. I hope to have some good news next week, but I'm still waiting a 10000µF stiffener cap to add in parallel to the C1819.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Looking good niiico!

The chip is not too difficult to install, but the legs are always a bit bent - you'll have to straighten them.
If you solder a few pins on each end to hold the chip in place, it will be easier to install the caps that go in the leg holes.

You are right about silver solder, it can be a pain to use. Takes a lot of heat to melt.