Help. I blew up my amps...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First let me say that the longer I read here the more I learn. Thanks to all you folks for the resource.

Anyway, awhile back I toasted two UCD180's by putting power to the outputs. I reversed the orientation of the boards and spaced out as I reconnected their existing harness. Power on - POP - smoke - a silent, imagined, tiny electronic scream as sudden death ensued...

+/- power connected to +/- speaker.

I blew the top off the cap labelled A in the picture - nuttin left but two metal leads and a plastic base.

Whatever it was inside that cap was spattered everywhere. It looked like tiny shreds of fibreglass.

Both amps blew the same cap - that is - on the right of the heatsink as shown in the picture. They did not blow the identical cap on the other side of the heat sink.

I am just a hobbyist wrt audio hardware and I'd be obliged if you could help me answer a couple of questions.

1). what did I blow up and what does it do?

2). Is it possible that that cap is all I blew?

3). Shall I solder it out and replace it just for grins, or is it hopeless?

4). If it isn't hopeless could someone tell me how I can specify a replacement? Kevin sent me to Digikey (for a 22MFD 63v cap) but the choices are mind-boggling. There's a bunch of different ones. Which one is right?

Jeez, I know all this sounds really lame but I'm honestly enjoying this and want to learn more.

Hey, at worst, I have a new career making smoke-bombs! (LOL)

Best Regards,
Tom

Attachments

• big ucd180.jpg
    big ucd180.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 443
1). what did I blow up and what does it do?

2). Is it possible that that cap is all I blew?

3). Shall I solder it out and replace it just for grins, or is it hopeless?