Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th April 2006, 08:43 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Wiring the IR2011 Correctly

Hi everyone...This is my first time building an amp so any help would be really appreciated. I tried searching the forum but I couldn't find any posts to help me out.

I got the pwm signal(both inverted and noninverted and both correctly level shifted to -15V low to -10 V high) to correctly propagate to the ir2011 mosfet driver. But the waveform from the ir2011 feeding the mosfets seem to be incorrect. The ir2011 is wired as shown below in the schematic.
Click the image to open in full size.
I am uncertain as to why the the high side mosfet waveform is the way it is. I thought the signal should be just the inverted version of the low side mosfet waveform. The attached picture shows the output from the oscilloscope. The top waveform input to the mosfet attached to the +15V rail and the bottom is attached to the -15 rail. Any help would be deeply Appreciated. Thanks.
Click the image to open in full size.
Old 6th April 2006, 09:55 AM   #2
Account Disabled

Send a message via AIM to classd4sure Send a message via MSN to classd4sure
You're starving it man!!

Ditch R20, R21, you're not using 50Vdc rails here, seriously not needed.

Then make sure you've some method to to allow pre charge of bootstrap to occure. Hint here, try tying a ~4.7K from Vs to -15.

You'll then need a delay before enabling oscillation, or do like IR and kick the low side mosfet on first.. see the circuit they use for that "start up circuit".

That should get something happening. You'll probably want to increase the bootstrap cap in value to at least 1 to 10uF according to what others had good luck with.

Try that and see what smokes,
Chris