UCD400 Build-Need Help Selecting Components

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First tings first...This is my first time posting here so I wanted to thank all of you for all of the wonderful information I've gathered here. This is truly an amazing resource!

Although I have a basic understanding of electronics, this will be my first time building an amplifier, so I'm sure some of my questions will seem elementary and even silly to some of the experts out there, but I'm one of those people that likes to sort out as many of the details as I can first, just to limit problems later.

The Project...

I've decided to build a 3-channel UCD400 based amp and have questions about transformers and the Hypex UCD power supplies among other things. I've read and searched and still have some questions.

Would it be worthwhile to run one Hypex UCD Supply HG to each UCD400 if using one central transformer? If not, I know you can use it for two UCD400 modules, but could you use it for three modules? I don't know if I want to use one HG power supply to power two UCD400s and another to power one UCD400, I'm sure that would have to give some unbalanced result.

I want to get the most I can out of the UCD400s, so I don't want to make much of a sacrifice in sound quality, etc here and have no problem running three HG power supplies if it's worth it.

Power supplies...
At this point I'm trying to get the three channels in one enclosure and am planning on using one large transformer but I'm a little unclear on the specs for the transformer voltage for the UCD400. Hypex's specs for the UCD400 say 45 to 65v, but the transformer they recommend (not the one I'd be using) has 42v sec, which is below their recommended minimum which leaves me confused and wondering if I'm comparing the correct specs.