t-amp vu meter and volt meter question....

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I actually have a few questions, but I will try and take it one step at a time. I have been looking online for a while and haven't actually found any answers, so I am humbling asking for your help.....

I am putting together a t-amp (the Class-t-amp-2020-m from autocostruire actually) and am using a power supply from Astron, the rs-a4. I like the look of analog vu meters and want to be able to use them but I dont exactly know how to wire them, or if I can even use them with the power supply I am using. I am a newbie if you can't tell. Or I was thinking of using a dc volt meter if the vu meters are viable, but I'm not sure if that will work either.

I'd love to just be able to solder a vu meter directly into the inputs without any fuss, but I doubt thats the way things work.

I even went as far as e-mailing the guys from Sifam, but that wasn't much help. Thanks for your response in advance........

Elliot Sound Products has a VU Meter schematic -- it really isn't a VU meter (a VU is 1 milliwatt dissipated into a 600 ohm load) -- but more of a loudness meter, buffered from the line.

Peak reading meters are preferred to VU -- the VU meter was damped so that it would respond to a high % of the peak signal in 300 milliseconds -- the peak reading meter can be damped to respond in 4 to 30 milliseconds, and hold the signal level until your brain can register it.

Hello rectaacies,
it seems we have very similar tastes! I'm also building an autocostruire kit and am going to put two analog vu meters on it.
Like you i was wondering how to do that:rolleyes:
My meters, like the vast majority, read only dc signal, so I have to rectify the audio signal to be fed to the meters.