TA2024 evaluation board

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I am a newbie on this forum and a newbie in the world of DIY. I am amazed by the sound of the Sonic Impact T-Amp.
My question is: how does it compare to an TA2024 evaluation board? Is this board ready to use as an amplifier, without any modifications?

I am asking this because I am not very experienced in soldering and this board is rather small. Building a chassis however will not be a problem for me.

opentop said:
I am a newbie on this forum and a newbie in the world of DIY. I am amazed by the sound of the Sonic Impact T-Amp.
My question is: how does it compare to an TA2024 evaluation board? Is this board ready to use as an amplifier, without any modifications?

The evaluation board has several advantages over the SI. The board is a larger and the input caps are 2.2uF, so the bass roll off isn't an issue. Also, the power supply caps have a little more capacity.

The evaluation board is equipped with banana jacks for speaker and power connections. Also, there are stereo RCA jacks for the input signal. It is an amp, so there's no volume control and you'll need a 12-13.2 volt power supply.

The disadvantage is the price as compared to the SI, but I haven't regretted paying more (I've had both). And if you don't want to modify it, you get a taste of what a modded SI can do without the risk. If you want to modify, it's a nice platform to start with.:D

Okay, thanks a lot Henry. I already have the SI. After your reply I will surely buy the evaluation board! Maybe it's a good start (looking at the price difference between the two) to mod the SI instead of the evaluation board. Just to have fun, just to try.

And there ar e a lot of mods, judging by all the posts in this forum!

Yes Jens,

I already checked AMP3 at 41HZ. But like I said, I am not very experienced in soldering, so I would like to buy a 'complete' board.