Mod Parasound HCA-855A w/UCD 400?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to this site and, and as a complete beginner, am interested in exploring a potential DIY solution for a multichannel digital amp that will perform at the level of the pricey offerings from Rowland, Bel Canto, Audio Research, etc. Being a total novice, I was looking for a potential shortcut on the DIY path. I currently have a spare Parasound HCA-855A (5x85 at 8 ohms), that could be gutted and then use the power supply and chassis, with the uCd400 or other modules. Specs on the power supply (from Parasound site) are:

- Direct coupled - no capacitors or inductors in signal path
- DC Servo and relay protection circuits
- High bias Class A/AB operation
- 1 kVa Toroid power transformer with independent secondary - windings for each channel, 68,000 µF power supply filter capacitance
- Independent power supplies for each channel
- Input stages use hand matched complementary JFETs

Since I do not have the skills and knowledge to do this myself, I would likely find a pro to do it for me. At this point, I was just curious about the feasibility of such an approach.

I do love this whole DIY way, and would like to learn more for future projects. Can anyone recommend some good books, websites (with lots of photos) in addition to this site that a total beginner could learn from the basics up?

Thanks.

This is (kind of) what I did while waiting for my transformer and case (I've put myself on a budget audio-wise)

I've modded an old Akai AM-55 integrated amplifier ('93) after I found the voltage on the secondaries are at a good voltage for UcD use.

It's rated at 220V, 650W, so I believe it's got a good VA rating (I don't think it's 650VA but looking at the size, maybe 400VA)