30.00 Amp Degraded

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
theAnonymous1 said:

Lol, exactly! Bigger, better, faster...... doesnt really matter "why". Plus, its a great way to learn.

Yup. I'm still learning though. I've got a ton of gainclones to put together. I have most of the boards done, now it's just chassis/power supply work that needs to be completed.

I'm using the SI as my learning experience. I'd rather work on a small board like this and get used to all the problems I'll run into with casework, etc., than go full bore into drilling some of the nice enclosures I have and screwing them up!

Found Problem

Found out last week why my amp was not working. The output wires had pulled out. The sticky stuff was holding the offending wire in place, but no continuity.
There are links to pics over on audiocircles. The new chokes really seemed to make the 5066 sound bigger and more powerful. Gonna try aircored choked in my next one.

George

Try this

motherone said:
How did the rest of the mods go? Mine are still in process. I ran into some problems with the SMD resistors not measuring correctly after soldering.

The rest went fine. But I only swapped C3/C4 on one and did them and removed c1/c2 on the other.
I did not change the resitors. The gain is fine as is, about the same as the Le Monstre and Mini Aleph.
The values of the factory resistors were closer than 1%. I checked and rechecked to verify continuity after cap replacement.
My method for SMD part swapping is to use soldering braid and a 15 watt pencil tip. It is be layed on top of the SMD and after about 10 - 15 seconds the part comes up when lifting off the braid.