New Bee to Class D Capabilities - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th January 2005, 07:09 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default New Bee to Class D Capabilities

Hi folks,

I am new to hardcore Class D audio power amplifier design . i plan to start with sigma delta modulation and error integrator design (about which i dont have any idea).
If somebody amonst our forum members could assist me on "How to go about "it would be great. Please spare a few minutes of your time and help.
Old 12th January 2005, 08:03 AM   #2
Kenshin is offline Kenshin  China
diyAudio Member

Development of a "reference" class D starting point

there are a series of directions to beginners.

We usually use self-oscillating PWM scheme instead of delta-sigma,for it need a relatively low switching frequency.

to use delta-sigma,put a D flip-flop between the comparator and the gate driver & clock it with 1MHz ~ several MHz.

be a beginner,maybe you can try doing something with low power supply(5V logic,etc.) using some comparator and logic gates. thats easier than high power circuits.

a 555 timer connected into schmitant trigger(self-oscillating PWM ), or a 74HC74 D flip-flop (delta-sigma) plus some transistors(as voltage follower) is enough to drive a small speaker 8ohm/0.5 watts.

you can try to implement many kinds of feedback control techniques on these small devices.

remember to add the output filter--small things may not need them,but a big amplifier must.
Old 12th January 2005, 09:00 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

If you search the web for delta sigma class-d amplifiers you will find quite a lot of info, mostly from universities.

Hysteresis modulator type class-d has indeed some similarities with delta sigma modulation.

Regards

Charles