Gate drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First, the disclaimer... I'm only a 4th year EE student doing this for our design project course, so I'm pretty lacking in experience with this branch of electronics compared to lots of you (I assume).

We're looking at using the IRF530NS or IRF23N15D for output mosfets in a non-H bridge configuration, 100W class D amp. For gate drivers we're looking at the IR2011

Our curriculum doesn't so much as mention gate drivers, and I've found almost no info about their basic function, except for the little bit of info in part datasheets. I gather they're used to introduce a dead time to prevent both mosfets from conducting simultaneously (thereby reducing efficiency). I've obtained spice models for both the drivers and the mosfets, but I'm really fuzzy on what "low side supply" versus "low side return" are etc etc. Nor do I understand the functional block diagram in the IR2011 datasheet.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, tell me where to start looking, or even give a comprehensive explanation, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks,

Dave

Dave, I'm about in the same boat. I am planning to use the IR2011S in a 150W into 4ohm Class D amp for my senior project as well. However, I have some industry experience with a Class D amp using the IR2010 gate driver. Here is what I can tell you: