My Class D PWM amp project.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just finished my first major DIY project, it's a Class D switching amp using the ZAP Pulse 2.2SE modules from LC Audio. OK, so I didn't really do anything more than screw and solder the various bits together but hey, it's my first project :)

Here are a few pics detailing some of the project (there's a parts and cost breakdown at the end of the post):

The main parts, together with the main part of the case:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The rear panel of the case with all the necessary holes drilled and sawed into it. This was by far the toughest part of the project!
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The rear panel now populated with sockets etc:

The PSU, transformer and input sockets and front panel power LED all wired up. Just needing to solder the connections to the actual modules themselves:

Everything wired up and powered up for the first time - yay! :) :

Closeup of one of the modules in action. If you're very observant you'll see I wired up the -ve and GND wires from the input the wrong way around (I switched them). I noticed that and fixed it before trying it out :D :

Another view of the completed amp, including front panel with obligatory blue LED ;) :

Now sitting in my rack, and sounding very nice indeed:

Parts and cost breakdown:
http://www.luacheia.com/misc_images/amp_project/AmplifierCosts.htm

The cost could have been significantly lower if I'd made my own PSU instead of going for the LC Audio one but for my first project I wanted something as "plug and play" as possible. I also ordered WAY too much cable from LC Audio. I actually used about 1/10th of what I ordered. The case from www.par-metal.com is very nice and surprisingly cheap.