Newbie: UcD180HG + SMPS400A180 = distortion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I have some experience with electronics but I consider myself a newbie, so please be forgiving with my ignorance.
I bought a UcD180HG module and SMPS400A180 PSU and connected them mostly according to the Hypex recommended wiring for unbalanced input:
1) the "safety earth" from the mains is connected to the chassis
2) the PSU has a contact to the chassis through a metallic spacer
3) the "signal +" and "signal -" from the UcD module go with a twisted pair to a potentiometer ("signal +" to POT output, "signal -" to POT common pin)
4) the "signal GND" from the UcD module goes to the POT common
5) the POT input is connected to a CHINCH (positive pin)
6) the POT common pin is connected to the negative pin of the CHINCH

When running the amplifier with the input shorted (by the POT) - it is completely quiet. However, if I turn the POT to hear the sound - it is distorted. The kind of distortion is difficult to explain - sounds like the input audio modulates some high frequency carrier; it sounds metallic.

I am surprised by this and could not explain it to myself. I do not know how to troubleshoot the situation. The most trivial idea is to build a classic transformer PSU instead of the SMPS.
As most of you are more experienced than me, what would you advice me?
I will make some pictures of the assembly tomorrow morning.

Thank you, guys!

I have built a few Hypex amps and would doubt if your problem is due to the SMPS.
The amp is designed to take a balanced input.
Are you using an unbalanced input ?
Its difficult to follow your wiring description without a diagram but Hypex do have a technical information sheet on how to wire their amps for unbalanced operation showing in detail the cable wiring from a phono to XLR

Hi, guys