TDA8954 Weak Output

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Good day guys...

This is my first time posting here, I'm from Philippines.

Please forgive me for lacking knowledge in amplifiers and electronic because I'm a newbie. I wanted to build a small amplifier that can delivery much power that is sufficient for my small speakers. From where I come from, they prefer louder and powerful Amplifiers that is not my type.

I choose to work with TDA8954 Board that is already available online, powered it with 27-0-27 VAC Toroidal Transformer...

Now begins my problem, after connecting the PSU and the Amp, it produce only 3-6vac on both channels left and right, while my TPA3116D2 produce 10vac powered with 24v Car Battery...

I have no idea what to check here, the TDA8954 Board has no signs of damage or what so ever.

Both TDA8954 and TPA3116D2 was tested using 4ohms speaker 150watts(PMPO)...

If you need more info regarding my trouble, feel free to ask because I don't know if I provided much enough...

Please give me inputs on what to check on this board, I would really appreciate it...

Thanks!

This is the sample picture of the Board :
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Last edited:
If you have a correct supply voltage, the amplifier works well (trivial) and you have connected the wires right, you get more output than 3-6Vac only if the input signal amplitude times the gain allows more than 3-6Vac.

On the supply voltage: a 27-0-27 transformer delivers close to 2x29V unloaded and more than 40V rectified. Do you exceed the 42.5V maximum of the TDA8954 (please measure)?

For a start we assume the amplifier is fine (does it get unnaturally warm?) but the photo you posted does not load. Does the amplifier distort?