Total noob - want to build (assemble) 6-channel amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was convinced in another thread to go the route of building my own class D amp. It was this link that really convinced me:

Six channel DIY Anaview AMS0100 amplifier

So, I've recently just gone down the path of active XO, and this would be part of that build. I would like some help figuring out what I need to replicate the amp in the link above, but with some modifications.

1) I am not sure what's going on with the company whose parts are used in that amp. There seems to be a question about whether they still sell small quantities to consumers. I've contacted them, will wait for reply. In the meantime, an alternative source would be great.

2) I would like to know how easy/possible it would be to include any DSP in a build like this, so that I could have the XO function contained here, as well.

3) It would appreciate advice/help (not actually hands-on help) from anyone who loves hobby building. I'm not an electronics guy. But I am building this with my son, who is interested in pursuing an EE degree. It's a father/son project. I don't mind just piecing together components.

4) We love a great cost to value ratio. I don't think we need to break the bank to get something that sounds great. (I'm half deaf, anyway)

That being said, I have a set of speakers with no XO's at one end, and a receiver and pre-amp at the other. It would be my preference to build a 6 channel, so that I can do a 4-way build in the future. (with subs on a separate amp) I'm open to any and all recommendations.

I come armed with basic soldering skills, and the ability to ask questions. :)

Good luck!