Class D amp + EMI reduction

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all! I'm a new electrician and I'm making a radio for myself. I have a radio receiver that works on 5 Volts and has 2 outputs of 3 Watts each. I've recently bought a D-Class amplifier that works on 12-24 Volts and has 2 outputs of 80 Watts each. I have a problem with the EMI effect. On "not so good" stations, when I connect the speakers to the amp's output, the radio signal falls. I can see it from the radio board and I can also hear it from the speaker. If I connect the speakers directly to the radio board, the signal is perfect. I've read that this is a common EMI problem and I need an output filter. I've also heard about the ferrite chokes but I don't know how to choose the right ferrite or how to use them. Can you please help me find a solution? It means a lot to me. Thank you very much!!!

EMI (ElectroMagnetic Interference) is an important problem for the combination radio -> class D amplifier. Could you tell what class D amplifier you bought?
Your class D amplifier should already have an output filter, in particular if it is 24V supply/80W output. The problem you observe is likely to be the radiated noise (by air) that partly paralyzes your radio receiver. A class D amplifier generates square-wave signals in the range 300KHz-600KHz and, as they are square-wave shaped, they contain a lot of higher frequency components. Perfect to disturb a radio receiver. Radiation shielding may be the solution to your problem.

Try the following: