4 way active amplifier build thread and questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm hoping to write down my thoughts and decisions I'm making and hopefully receive some feedback on specific questions I might have. As I'm very new to this, I'll be happy to receive any feedback, concerns, or suggestions any of you might have.
I'll start with some background on the project, but then list out some of my current questions and concerns and hopefully some of you might be able to help me out.

So, I'm a mech engineer by schooling (you will see cad models in this thread) and while we did have to take a circuits class, let's just say that was 10 years ago and I'm basically having to learn basic electronics all over again. What seems to be pretty great from my perspective, is the great availability of pre-assembled modules that take the majority of the difficult stuff out of this.

I said I was an engineer, so let's start out with some "user needs"
I'm building the LX521 speakers, and would like to build my own amplifier. I want this to fit into a single box. I have a piece of furniture that this must fit in, with W X H X D dimensions of 500mm x 140mm X 390mm. I would like the box itself to be ~460x120x ~330.
For WAF I'm going to make the front panel out of wood. My wife and I both like the idea of a darker stained piece with some lichtenberg figures burned into it. If I go this direction, I would like to keep it very plain, without buttons, switches or lights on the front panel, but I'd be okay with a small IR receiver.