200W+200W Class-D design considerations

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi DIYAudio members,

You probably get these kind of threads a lot, but I'm giving a shot. Not sure if it is a right category for this thread, so let me know if I need to move.

Bit of a background of myself - I've been an electronics engineer for about 4 years now. I have designed various PCB projects ranging from few dozens of components to 400 components from 2 to 8 layer boards. Problem is, that I've got experience only on digital domain and DC-DC power regulators. I want to improve myself on analog and AC circuits and due to my digital background, I'm amazed by the Class-D amplifiers.

Recently I ordered myself a TPA3116 amplifier board with Bluetooth module from Ebay. After analyzing it, it seems pretty straight-forward - a copy of a reference design from the TI datasheet. So I took a goal of designing myself a Class-D amplifier with my own little added funk.

Time to put down some of design constraints.
a) I want one board to power two 4ohm 200W peak, 100W RMS speakers.
b) It must run on a car battery (11.8-14.4V) so DC-DC converter is needed.
c) It must have a input capability of a standard 50W car stereo output.
d) As small as possible.

For b) it is clear for me; DC-DC converter is needed. So far I presume 48V (or more) 14A converter is sufficient to power 400W peaks. This will need a lot of filtering and preferrably a separate PCB, but should be manageable.