Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Converting an old Peavey Bass Amp into a D class amplifier
Converting an old Peavey Bass Amp into a D class amplifier
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st October 2017, 04:35 AM   #1
JulianRojas is offline JulianRojas  Colombia
diyAudio Member

Exclamation Converting an old Peavey Bass Amp into a D class amplifier

Hi everyone... I'm just a newbie that has a bass amplifier but wants more power to drive bigger speakers.

Currently I own and old Peavey Mark IV 400BH bass amplifier that was built in the earlies 80's, this amp works well but has a little problem for me... It lacks power to drive bigger speaker cabinets and it gets too hot when driven hard so i was thinking in a way to replace the 400BH power amplifier of this baby and put a D class amp board and integrate all in the bass head chassis. (Sounds like crazy) This amp can give a total of 300 watts at 2 ohms but I need it to handle 600 watts rms at 8 ohms. Sorry for my english, this is not my native language, but I try . My knowledge in electronics are low medium but i am going to use a friend's help that is a technician. I Will attach the original schematic:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MK IV Bass Amp schematic_Página_1.jpg (823.4 KB, 146 views)
File Type: jpg MK IV Bass Amp schematic_Página_2.jpg (863.3 KB, 145 views)
File Type: jpg MK IV Bass Amp schematic_Página_3.jpg (790.6 KB, 137 views)
File Type: jpg MK IV Bass Amp schematic_Página_4.jpg (865.2 KB, 133 views)
Old 21st October 2017, 06:45 AM   #2
JMFahey is offline JMFahey  Argentina
diyAudio Member

Short answer:
1) leave amplifier as is.