Left channel plays louder on DTA3116S – how to solve it ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th April 2017, 07:24 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Left channel plays louder on DTA3116S – how to solve it ?

Well hello there – I have no knowledge of amplifiers or electronics in in the diy/repair sense but I was hoping there may be some chance I can work this one out with some help from people who are much more knowledgeable than me.

My almost new DTA3116S amplifier from Dayton Audio (yes the smallest one in the known universe) is 100% what I wanted but there is a slight problem – the left channel plays louder and I’m afraid there is not going to be any returns/warranty thing because the shop I bought it from (PartsExpresss) is located on another continent… and I don’t really have everything that came in the box anymore.

Details:
Amplifier is connected to 220 volts/Europe (with another cable, but the same power source).
I have done tests with signal coming from my computer which as it turns out has an extra 0.2-0.3 db output / left channel (connected out to in and measured in Soundforge).
I measured voltage at the output of the amplifier with speakers connected:
4000 hz tone at 250 millivolts – right channel was at minus 5.6%
4000 hz tone at 1000 millivolts – right channel was at minus 3.2%
4000 hz tone at 2000 millivolts – right channel was at minus 2.3%
4000 hz tone at 3000 millivolts – right channel was at minus 2.35%