single drive/speaker portable system. NOOB HERE!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

So, I recently got the crazy idear of building a small speaker to have in the kitchen. and in the future, use it off grid with 12v, just to have as background music at a small party.
Never built something like this before, so I have read quite a bit on the subject, but still confused about a few thing. Also, it would be nice to get a second opinion to sanitycheck what i got so far.

my only requirements are that the sound is somewhat decent, cheap (<100$) and small. And I can contain everything in the box. (I know I'm asking for the impossible)

Speaker:
So, single full range driver. cheap, has the frequency range and plenty loud. also the case would only have to be 0.1 ft3 vented. With that some port that I still need to define dimentions on.
http://www.parts-express.com/faitalpro-3fe25-3-professional-full-range-woofer-4-ohm--294-1103

Amp:
Kemo M033N 18 Watt Universal Mono Amplifier Module
I heard that the TPA 31186 has the "best" sound of the class D?! should i go for that instead? seen them for <10$

Volume control:
10k audio (taper?) potentiometer? between the power and the amp.
I have seen some also have switch. Could i use that as an on/off switch too?

The mono signal:
How do I convert a phone stereo signal to mono, as in mixing both channels into one.
Would it work using a stereo to phono converter/adapter like these?
Stereo to Mono Adapter | eBay
or is there boards that mix it? and if there is, would it then make more sense to get a stereo amp(like the TPA 3118) and with the mixer. keeping stereo open for later upgrades.

I know how to solder a bit etc from playing around with a RasPi, but don't have access to any measuring tools.

Wall of text for you guys ;-)
I appreciate all input!

Last edited:
I'd go for a mini Karlsonator 0.53 made of 9mm plywood.