Aux input for TPA3116 bluetooth amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I've built an amp based on this module from ebay
New TPA3116 Class D Amplifier Board Bluetooth 2.1 Amplifier Board 100W+2*50W | eBay
Quite happy with the sound, I have it driving two Kenwood 4ohm coax units and an 8ohm 5x7inch woofer, although the bass seems a bit weak maybe because its supposed to be a proper subwoofer and the Kenwoods are a bit tinny, and too much high end so have to keep the 'treble' control on the unit right down.
My question is, does anyone know how to tap an auxiliary input into it? I have tried all the output pins of the Bluetooth module and the volume pot pins but get nothing. I'm a bit of a noob but have some electronics experience. I guess I'm missing something obvious.

Thanks for any help.

Theo

I have it's bigger brother, the 4.1 board but it comes with an AUX analog input so I'm sure it's possible as long as you find the correct points. If I get a chance, I'll check mine to see if the AUX input connects to any of the BT pins or how it's wired in general.

I surprised your board doesn't have one.

Thanks very much, that'd be great. Yes I only noticed the 'bluetooth only' warning after I bought it. I think there is a lowpass filter on tge stereo channels and the bass is very deep so it sounds like its missing the mid-bass range. I need to get a diagram of the position of the components to change.

Thanks,

Theo

I located the output lines from the bt module, but wherever I tap into them I get no input. Could there be some protection on it? I notice the L and R channels have separate grounds, my input jack joins them, perhaps that's the problem? Not sure of how to solve it.

Thanks.