How do europeans buy amp modules from abroad?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello guys, i am a newbie living in europe. I am looking to build my first amp and i found that many modules recommended here are made in china or USA (such as classdaudio.com) or somewhere else. Since there is very high VAT in europe, I wonder how do other fellow Europeans buy these products? do you just pay the high VAT? or do you buy from some local dealers? or do you just buy european made products like Hypex?

I'm sure there are some. Remember that VAT varies from country to country and by what the item is classified as. I'm typing this on a laptop I bought on eBay from the US (I didn't realise at the time) which including all the charges was cheaper than the replacement Samsung part!

I suppose we just go out and use the public services it pays for! ;)

Here in Sweden I'm amazed at how many people buy tools mail order from the UK. I try to buy locally whenever I can but component shops are few and far between in the frozen north.

Since there is very high VAT in europe, I wonder how do other fellow Europeans buy these products? do you just pay the high VAT?
You have to pay custom duties as well. Note that custom duties and VAT are calculated from the price including shipping costs.

Edit: As Åke says, it may happen that a package slips through and you don't pay anything, but don't count on that! ;)

or do you buy from some local dealers? or do you just buy european made products like Hypex?
It depends. Many products are not available from European dealers at all, in all other cases you need to calculate how much it would save you. Don't forget there are also other downsides, for example the costs if it should become necessary to return the unit for warranty reasons, or longer delivery times.

Last edited:
Last edited: