Class D; How much DIY is DIYable?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

First, let me start by saying, I am only trying to elaborate what I would like to accomplish, if any of what I say seems ignorant or impossible, it is only due simply to my ignorance.

I'm curious exactly what can be done from a simple buy and assembly of components. I'm not an electrical engineer, I couldn't know where to begin to design a schematic anything but a simple transistor based amplifier for headphones or desk speakers on a nine volt battery, but I can follow schematics.

Essentially, what I would like to do is compile a set of working schematics for a DC-DC converter circuit to up the voltage from a car battery (if this is viable) and an amplification circuit that can push a continuous 1600 watts into a 2 ohm impedance without frying. I wouldn't need a low pass filter, because the head unit already handles that before sending it down the RCA cables. I'm not entirely worried about a subsonic filter either, as my current amp doesn't have this.

The reason:
I am tired of cheap, rushed junk. I have a Visonik amplifier that I bought as part of a set with two 12" speakers in a box with wiring for 120 bucks altogether. The only component I'm still using from that setup today is the amplifier. It was obviously built by hand (I've opened it up and checked out the circuitry, solder joints, etc.) and had some effort and a little QC behind it. This thing is still pounding and currently pushing 2 12" 800wrms Pyle subwoofers. Do I stress it's abilities a little bit? Sure. Does it shut off from thermal overload? After a 30 mile trip of constant push yes, yes it does, but the damn thing KEEPS WORKING.