Build Integrated From The Ground up or Start Out With Pioneer Unit and Upgrade?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, this is my first post other than introductions but I wanted to get some help making the decision to build a full scale integrated amp from the ground up or starting out with something like a Pioneer VSX-S300 then upgrading parts. I am also very new to the world diy audio electronics (other than some work with guitar amps and cabs), so yes I am a n00b so please be gentle :p. I have come up with tons of different parts lists but what’s interesting is that the S300 pretty much fits all requirements except power output. Would it be worthwhile to build from the ground up or essentially upgrade the power amp stage in the Pioneer? I think it would be really cool to build an entire amp myself, and I have some really cool ideas for UI using Arduino, but I am a bit overwhelmed at the thought starting from scratch. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

I suggest class D and switching supplies is not the first project to take on.

You don't just "upgrade" the power stage in an amp, be it switching or linear. Power output is the first parameter selected and everything that follows supports that decision.

What makes you think the output in the Pioneer is inadequate? 100W! What are you trying to drive, a stadium?

I suggest class D and switching supplies is not the first project to take on.

You don't just "upgrade" the power stage in an amp, be it switching or linear. Power output is the first parameter selected and everything that follows supports that decision.

What makes you think the output in the Pioneer is inadequate? 100W! What are you trying to drive, a stadium?