Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Class D

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th January 2014, 11:11 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Class D Stereo Amp in Mono?

Hello,
I am new to this so please excuse my ignorance. I have a two channel Class D amplifier but only need to run one channel. Will it damage the amp to leave one channel unused? The amp is a Sure Electronics TDA7498 2x100 watt. Thank you in advance for any feedback.
Jeff
Old 20th January 2014, 11:49 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

You should ground the input of the unused channel and check the filter components for geneated heat. If they get hot after some minutes i suppose to not leave the output open. (If the output filter components are getting hot, it might help to put a 4ohms resistor with a 33uh coil in series at the output)

There shouldnt be any problems, as this amp has an output filter. More care has to be taken when running in a filterless configuration.
Old 20th January 2014, 11:53 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

if you don't connect a speaker to the second channel the output filter choke will ring at very high voltages and possibly fry the output filter capacitor.
Depending on how conservative the voltage of the capacitor is will decide if it fries or not.
Old 21st January 2014, 08:49 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Parallel the amp. Split the signal and use it as input on both channels and then parallel the output, plus to plus, minus to minus.
Old 22nd January 2014, 04:49 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Do you think, its a good idea to put output filters in parallel without changing their values? I guess not. Wouldnt this invoke eddi currents and a misconfigured reconstruction filter?
Old 22nd January 2014, 05:26 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctormord View Post