High power (upto 1000W@8ohms) from batterys?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

Im a newbie here but ive been browsing the forum for a while now, im building a fairly high output bike trailer soundsystem and im looking for an amp board that is bridgeable to give upto 1000W at 8ohms running from a battery supply. I cant seem to find many options, most higher power boards require a +/- supply, the best i could find was the Sure TAS5630 board but it only gives about 200W at 8 ohms.

Has anyone got any suggestions?

Many thanks

James

Instead of paralleling 12V batteries + adding a car amp PSU it is more suitfuil to connect the required number of batteries in series to achive the required voltage. No matter if you are heading for a single rail or +/- supply.

In the year 2013 for such applications lead type batteries are a stone age choice.
My preference is clearly LiFePO4 with a proper BMS.
Brands like Headway offer also respectable cell sizes like used in e-bikes.
BMS means battery management system and should include a balancer+overcharge protection+deep discharge protection.

General note:
Adressing such power as a newbie in a DIY system typically leads to more or less expensive accidents. Be ready for the fight and be ready to pay for gaining experience. Consider safety precautions. Never give up.
If you just want a fast and cheap success - better don't start at all.

The problem with charging several batteries in series off the bike's alternator is not possible and therefor the second post from Tinitus is probably the most suitable.